Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

When Conversation Turns to Suicide, March, 2024

March 14 @ 12:00 pm - March 22 @ 4:00 pm

Free - $250.00
A 16-hour training for people wanting to learn about and use the Alternatives to Suicide approach in their work and beyond

When Conversation Turns to Suicide is a 16-hour training based in the Alternatives to Suicide approach, and intended as an alternative to ASIST, QPR, and similar approaches that remain rooted in conventional medicalized systems. This training is open to providers, family members, peer supports, first responders, and anyone else who wants to learn how to offer support to someone who is suicidal. Participants will learn:

  • Common Myths about Suicide
  • A framework for being in conversation with someone who is struggling
  • The links between trauma (including systemic oppression) and suicide
  • The importance of power sharing
  • And more!

T he training will be held on the following dates:

  • Thursday, March 14
  • F riday, March 15
  • Thursday, March 21
  • F riday, March 22

All days will be scheduled for 12pm to 4pm Eastern USA time (11am to 3pm Central, 10am to 2pm Mountain, 9am to 1pm Pacific) and held on Zoom.

A few reminders: Participants must miss no more than two hours of training content (not including breaks) in order to receive a certificate of completion. Please note that there are significant similarities (as well as significant differences) between this training and the Alternatives to Suicide Group Facilitator training. Although we still require people to follow our attendance guidelines even if they have completed the other training, please be prepared for some overlaps in information offered (although we do find that each group is different and there is still much wisdom to be gained even if similar information is being offered).

Details

Start:
March 14 @ 12:00 pm
End:
March 22 @ 4:00 pm
Cost:
Free - $250.00
Website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/when-conversation-turns-to-suicide-march-2024-tickets-821743957297